Kenya's president names new Cabinet

Tuesday November 24 2015

Kenya's President Uhuru Kenyatta Tuesday night announced a new government structure, increasing the number of ministries and departments.

The changes came following claims of mass corruption in the government that saw six Cabinet Secretaries step aside.

None of the six, Ms Charity Ngilu, Ms Anne Waiguru, Mr Kazungu Kambi, Mr Felix Koskei, Mr Michael Kamau and Mr Davis Chirchir, was retained.

The ministries were increased from 19 to 20, while state departments rose to 41 from 26.

President Kenyatta's address was relayed live on national television.

The appointees will be vetted by the National Assembly before taking up their respective roles.