Somalia's bid to join EAC now enters verification stage

Thursday January 26 2023
EAC Secretary-General Peter Mathuki

EAC Secretary-General Peter Mathuki who said that the technical team in Mogadishu will engage Somalia to ensure that the verification is finalised and a report completed in time in readiness for presentation to the EAC Council of Ministers. PHOTO | POOL


The East African Community (EAC) officially launched the verification mission to assess Somalia’s readiness to join the regional bloc.

A team of experts from the partner states will be in Somalia from January 25 to February 3, 2023.

The team will, among other roles, seek to establish the country’s level of conformity with the criteria for admitting countries as provided in the Treaty establishing the EAC.

Speaking during the official launch on Wednesday, EAC Secretary-General Peter Mathuki disclosed that the technical team in Mogadishu will prepare a report to be presented to the EAC Council of Ministers for consideration before forwarding it for decision at the 23rd Summit of EAC Heads of State scheduled for the end of February.

“The verification team is set to make findings relating to the institutional frameworks in place, legal frameworks, policies, strategies, projects and programmes, areas of cooperation with other EAC partner states and expectations from membership,” he said.

The team will assess Somalia’s development strategies and plans in key areas of collaboration, including infrastructure, energy, education and science, peace and security, and international cooperation.


“Somalia has the longest national coastline of over 3,000km in Africa, linking Africa to the Arabian Peninsula, which the region will tap into to increase intra-regional trade,” said Dr Mathuki.

The team will also review the status of Somalia in international law and establish the country’s readiness to join the EAC Customs Union, Common Market Protocol, Monetary Union and ongoing political confederation constitutional framework.

When admitted, Somalia will join seven-member bloc, becoming the eight partner states.

EAC states are Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda, Burundi, South Sudan and the latest entrant the Democratic Republic of Congo, which joined in April last year.

Somalia had applied to join the bloc two times before, but the Community never sent a team of experts to the country to determine if it qualified for membership.