UK removes Tanzania from the Red List

Friday October 08 2021
Heathrow Airport.

The UK has removed 47 countries from its travel Red List and only seven countries remain on the list. PHOTO | FILE | NMG


The UK has removed Tanzania from its Red List in a move that will ease travel.

With effect from October 11, arrivals from Tanzania and 46 other countries will no longer have to undergo mandatory hotel quarantine. They will, however, be required to do a PCR test before travelling.

In a major overhaul, the UK removed 47 countries from the Red List and only seven countries remain on the list, including Peru and the Dominican Republic.

Announcing the update on Twitter, UK Transport Secretary Grant Shapps said the 47 re-categorised countries will be moved to Britain's "rest of the world" list.

“I'm also making changes so travellers visiting England have fewer entry requirements, by recognising those with fully-vax status from 37 new countries and territories including India, Turkey and Ghana, treating them the same as UK fully vax passengers.”

Some of the African countries removed from the list include Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of Congo, Eritrea, eSwatini, Ethiopia, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique and Namibia.


Others are Rwanda, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Sudan, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.