Kenyan film 'Click Click Bang' bags two accolades at Africa Magic awards

Saturday May 27 2023
clicl click bang

Directors of Kenyan movie ‘Click Click Bang’ Philip Karanja (L) and Abel Mutua (R). PHOTO| JARED NYATAYA | NMG


Kenyan film Click Click Bang by Abel Mutua and Phillip Karanja Njenga won two accolades at the 2023 African Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards.

Directed by Philip Karanja Njenga and Michael Munyoki, Click Click Bang won the Best Movie in East Africa and the Best Indigenous Language (Swahili) at the ceremony held on May 20 in Nairobi.

Kenyan comedy Njoro wa Uba won the Best Original Comedy Series award.

Nigerian filmmaker Kunle Afolayan won the grand prize for his 2022 film Anikulapo. It tells the story of Saro (Kunle Remi), a man seeking greener pastures, but unfolding events and his affair with the king’s wife, Queen Arolake (Bimbo Ademoye), he encounters his untimely death and with Akala, a mystical bird believed to give and take life.

Read: Ugandan ‘Foot Wine’ scoops Film of the Year award

Biggest winner


The film also scooped five awards, emerging as the biggest winner of the night. It won the Best Indigenous Language (Yoruba), Best Overall Movie, Best Sound Editor (movie/TV series), Best Writer (movie/TV series), and Best Soundtrack (movie/TV series) categories.

Anikulapo also won in the Best Sound Editor, Best Soundtrack, Best Writer and Best Indigenous Language Movie Yoruba categories.

Click Click Bang is about Kev, a footballer and an orphan, who has a sick sister to take care of. When his football dreams come crushing down, he is left with no choice but to join the crime world. The television drama series, Njoro wa Uba, that premiered in 2019 is based on the life of a taxi driver known as Njoro or Washington Njoroge (played by Joe Kinyua).

After losing his job in a banking scandal, Njoro takes up a taxi driving business to provide for his daughter and to manage his growing legal fees.

Through his journey, he paints a portrait of Nairobi and sees the lie that his life reflected in its inhabitants.

Njoro wa Uba is directed by Arnold Mwanjila. It is written by Brian Munene, Lawrence Murage, Arnold Mwanjila, and Voline Ogutu. It is produced by Lucy Mwangi.

Read: Dreams come true for Bongo film bintis


Ugandan director Loukman Ali won three awards: Best Art Director, Best Director and Best Cinematographer (movie/TV series) for his contribution to the 2022 Nigerian crime-action thriller Brotherhood.

Brotherhood also scooped two other awards Best Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV Series) for Tobi Bakre, and Best Lighting Designer for Mathew Yusuf. Produced by Jade Osiberu, the film tells the story of twin brothers Wale Adetula (played by Falz) and Akin Adetula (played by Tobi Bakre) who witnessed their parents being killed while they were young.

After years of fighting to survive on the streets of Lagos, Wale and Akin fall on opposite sides of the law. The bonds of brotherhood are put to the ultimate test as one joins a Police Taskforce that hunts down the other and his criminal gang.

Patience Ozokwo was honoured with the 2023 Industry Merit Award for her remarkable career in the film industry. Angel Unigwe received the Trailblazer Award, recognizing her as a rising star and visionary talent.

Africa Magic Viewers’ Choice Awards is an annual event presented by MultiChoice recognising outstanding achievement in television and film.

Read: Filmmaker who made it big is now a mentor

Best Actor in a Comedy – (Movie/TV Series):
Samuel Perry in Broda Shaggi
Best Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV Series):
Tobi Bakre in Brotherhood
Best Actress in a Comedy- (Movie/TV Series):
Bimbo Ademoye in Selina
Best Makeup (Movie/TV Series):
Maryam Ndukwe in Shanty Town
The Multichoice Talent Factory Film:
Best Indigenous Language – Swahili:
Click Click Bang by Abel Mutua and Philip Karanja Njenga
Best Indigenous Language Yoruba (Movie/TV Series):
Kunle Afolayan for Anikulapo
Best Indigenous Language – Hausa – (Movie/TV Series):
Abubakar Bashir Maishadda in Aisha
Best Indigenous Language – Igbo – (Movie/TV Series):
Uhuruchi by Victor Iyke
Best Supporting Actor – (Movie/TV Series):
Abdisattar Ahmed in Gacal

Best Actress in a Drama - (Movie/TV Series):
Osas Ighodaro in Man of God
Best Picture Editor:
Holmes Awa and Daniel Tom in Crime and Justice Lagos
Best Sound Editor:
Anu Afolayan in Anikulapo
Best Lighting Designer:
Mathew Yusuf in Brotherhood
Best Costume Designer (Movie/ TV Series):
Adeola Art Alade in The Real Housewives of Lagos
Best Art Director:
Loukman Ali in Brotherhood
Best Original Drama Series:
Best Original Comedy Series:
Njoro wa Uba
Best Unscripted Original:
King Bugar
Best Original Telenovela:
Best Online Social Content Creator:
Elozonam and Kie Kie in Back From The Future
Best Short Film:
Pa Aromire by Adeoye Adetunji
Best Supporting Actress – (Movie/TV Series):
Efe Irele in Four Four Forty Four
Best Director:
Loukman Ali in Brotherhood
Best Writer (Movie/TV Series):
Shola Dada in Anikulapo
Best Soundtrack (Movie/TV Series):
Kent Edunjobi in Anikulapo
Best Documentary:
The Debut by Nora Awolowo
Best Television Series:
Crime and Justice Lagos by Yinka Edward
Best Cinematographer – (Movie/TV Series):
Loukman Ali in Brotherhood
Best Movie East Africa:
Click Click Bang by Abel Mutua and Phillip Karanja Njenga
Best Movie West Africa:
Brotherhood by Jade Osiberu
Best Movie Southern Africa:
Jewel by Elvis Chucks
2023 Industry Merit Award:
Patience Ozokwo
Trailblazer Award:
Angel Unigwe
Best Overall Movie – Africa:
Anikulapo by Kunle Afolayan