IEBC declares Uhuru Kenyatta winner of presidential poll

Friday August 11 2017

President Uhuru Kenyatta and deputy president William Ruto declared winners of the 2017 presidential election. PHOTO | NMG

By The EastAfrican

Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta has won a second term in office, in an election disputed by the main opposition Nasa. The IEBC (electoral commission) chairman Wafula Chebukati announced the presidential elections Friday night.

"I wish to declare Uhuru Kenyatta president-elect and William Ruto as deputy president-elect," he announced at the national tallying centre in Nairobi. President Kenyatta garnered 8.2 million votes, representing 54.2 per cent of valid votes cast beating his rival Nasa flagbearer Raila Odinga who had 6.8 million votes.

Nasa leaders boycotted the announcement ceremony citing the IEBC's failure to address their concerns.

"We raised some very serious concerns, they have not responded to them. As Nasa we shall not be party to the process they are about to make," Musalia Mudavadi, a co-principal said.

James Orengo, Nasa's chief election agent said the election "has been an entire charade," adding that: "Going to court, for us, is not an alternative. We have been there before with no positive outcome."