Harambee Stars draw Tanzania, Senegal in Cup of Nations

Saturday April 13 2019

The venue for the 2019 African Cup of Nations draw next to the iconic pyramids in Egypt. PHOTO | CAF |


Kenya's Harambee Stars have been pooled in Group “C” of the 32nd edition of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (Afcon) scheduled for Egypt from June 21 to July 19.

In the draw conducted at the Giza plateau in the famous Egyptian Pyramids on Friday night, Kenya—who returned to the continental showpiece after a 15-year hiatus—were pooled alongside neighbours Tanzania, Algeria and Senegal.

“Senegal is the favourite team to proceed as group winners, they’ve an extraordinary pool of players with European experience but Algeria could stiff competition,” said Senegalese legend El Hadji Diouf during the draw.

Kenya had been placed in Pot 3 alongside Uganda, South Africa, Benin, Burundi, Mauritania and Madagascar before the draw.

Harambee Stars were represented at the draw by Coach Sebastien Migne, Football Kenya Federation (FKF) president Nick Mwendwa and CEO Robert Muthomi.

Egypt will open the championship with Zimbabwe.


Algeria, who finished top in Group “D” during the qualifiers, last won the title 29 years ago and have been runners up once.

Senegal, just like Tanzania, who are making a comeback after 39 years, are yet to clinch the gong but were runners up once in 2002.

The Lions of Teranga topped group “A” during the qualification period while Tanzania came second following a shock 3-0 over Uganda Cranes in the final group “L” match to book the ticket.

Full draw

  • Group A; Egypt, DR Congo, Uganda, Zimbabwe
  • Group B: Nigeria, Guinea, Madagascar, Burundi
  • Group C: Senegal, Algeria, Kenya, Tanzania
  • Group D: Morocco, Ivory Coast, South Africa, Namibia
  • Group E: Tunisia, Mali, Mauritania, Angola
  • Group F: Cameroon, Ghana, Benin, Guinea Bissau
  • 2019 AFCON groups allocations:
  • Group A : Cairo Stadium
  • Group B : Alexandria Stadium
  • Group C : Air Defence Stadium (Cairo)
  • Group D : Al Salam Stadium (Cairo)
  • Group E : Suez Stadium
  • Group F : Ismailia Stadium