Uganda election: Ministers suffer shock defeat

Friday February 19 2016

A voter casts her ballot paper at one of the

A voter casts her ballot paper at one of the polling stations in Namulanda, Wakiso District on February 18, 2016. Several government ministers have have lost their parliamentary seats. PHOTO | MORGAN MBABAZI | NATION MEDIA GROUP


Several Ugandan government ministers have lost their parliamentary seats to opposition, partial results from Thursday's vote show.

According to State-owned New Vision newspaper, 17 ministers and junior ministers have lost their seats.

These include:

  • Defence minister - Crispus Kiyonga
  • Justice minister - Kahinda Otafiire
  • Information minister - Jim Muhwezi
  • Education minister - Jessica Alupo
  • Attorney-General - Fred Ruhindi
  • Housing minister - Sam Engola
  • Energy minister - Irene Muloni

With results from nearly half of all polling stations now in, the Electoral Commission has announced that President Yoweri Museveni is still in the lead.