Motion to impeach Somali president declared invalid

Tuesday December 11 2018

Besieged Somali President Mohamed Abdullahi

Besieged Somali President Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed Farmajo. FILE | NATION MEDIA GROUP 

More by this Author

The Somali Lower House of Parliament has declared as invalid a motion seeking the impeachment of President Mohamed Abdullahi Farmajo.

The House Administrative Director, Mr Abdikarim Haji Abdi Buuh, Tuesday issued the letter that could offer the besieged president a lifeline.

The letter, published by the mainstream and social media, is addressed to the Speaker of the Lower House, Mr Mohamed Mursal, and is copied to his deputes, Mr Abdiweli Sheikh Ibrahim Mudey and Mahad Abdalla Awad.

Their names

It states that the motion submitted to the Speaker on December 9 by 92 legislators did not meet signatories' threshold, adding that some 14 MPs said to be back it sent letters to the Parliament’s Administration Office, stating that their names were wrongly inserted on the list and that they did not sign.

“I have seen letters sent to the office by 14 MPs, stating they did not endorse the motion,” reads the letter to the Speaker.

“They insist that their names and signatures were forged.”

Mr Buh stated that if the 14 were deducted from the original 92 parliamentarians said to have endorsed the motion, 78 would remain, falling short of the minimum requirement.

Earlier endorsement

“Therefore, they are short of the 92 signatories to keep the motion valid as the provisional constitution requires 1/3 of the total MPs of 275 to unequivocally endorse a motion,” concluded the letter sent by Mr Buh.

In March this year, a motion was submitted against the former Speaker, Prof Mohamed Osman Jawari. It was first said that the motion was rendered invalid by a number of MPs who changed their positions.

Others contested that once submitted, the lawmakers could not revoke earlier endorsement.

However, after a bitter argument over the validity of the motion, Prof Jawari resigned, paving the way for the election of Mr Mursal.